FAQ’s

Top Of Page
Does Mindful Delights use tree nuts in their recipes?

Yes, in addition all of our products are created in a facility that uses tree nuts. If you have an allergy to tree nuts of any kind, it maybe best to avoid our products.

 

Does your products contain any Soy ingredients?

 

We do not use Soy in any of our recipes nor in our dedicated baking facility, however some of our suppliers do label their products as may have been produced in a facility that also produces soy. It is for this reason that we do not advertise as “Soy Free.”

How do we control quality in our baking?

In three ways

Our facility is separate and dedicated to only producing our products. We do not share this facility for any other type of cooking or manufacturing.

We limit the amount of external ingredients needed for our recipes by starting with raw organic nuts and sea salt for peanutbutter, our own apple sauce from slow cooked organic apples, and our own vanilla distilled from organic vanilla beans.

Our head baker is Vegan and has sever allergies to wheat, gluten and corn (and a few other ingredients!), to a point that if it is in the air, a reaction could occur. We keep strict control on our ingredients from opening the shipments to the boxing of the orders.

Why do you use certain packaging and plastics?

All of our packaging is 100% recyclable. In our research, we have found that much of the green plastics that are available are made from plant material, I.E, corn. Since we do not use corn in any of our recipes, we cannot use this type of packaging for our products.

Celiac Disease
Corn Allergies
Wheat and Gluten
Vegetarian
Vegan
Disclaimer

 

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease, also known as gluten intolerance, is a genetic disorder that affects at least 1 in 133 Americans. Symptoms of celiac disease can range from the classic features, such as diarrhea, weight loss, and malnutrition, to latent symptoms such as isolated nutrient deficiencies but no gastrointestinal symptoms. The disease mostly affects people of European (especially Northern European) descent, but recent studies show that it also affects Hispanic, Black and Asian populations as well. Those affected suffer damage to the villi (shortening and villous flattening) in the lamina propria and crypt regions of their intestines when they eat specific food-grain antigens (toxic amino acid sequences) that are found in wheat, rye, and barley. Oats have traditionally been considered to be toxic to celiacs, but recent scientific studies have shown otherwise. This research is ongoing, however, and it may be too early to draw solid conclusions.

Because of the broad range of symptoms celiac disease presents, it can be difficult to diagnose. The symptoms can range from mild weakness, bone pain, and aphthous stomatitis to chronic diarrhea, abdominal bloating, and progressive weight loss. If a person with the disorder continues to eat gluten, studies have shown that he or she will increase their chances of gastrointestinal cancer by a factor of 40 to 100 times that of the normal population. Further, gastrointestinal carcinoma or lymphoma develops in up to 15 percent of patients with untreated or refractory celiac disease. It is therefore imperative that the disease is quickly and properly diagnosed so it can be treated as soon as possible. http://www.celiac.com/
Corn allergies

Overview

When you think of a food allergy, corn is not one of the first items to come to mind. Foods, such as eggs, peanuts and fish are known as highly allergic foods. According to the Corn Refiners Association, a corn protein allergy is rare and is not considered a health concern by the Food and Drug Administration in the U.S. The most commonly reported symptoms to the FDA, of a corn protein allergy are skin rashes and asthma. If you experience adverse symptoms after eating corn products, talk with a medical doctor.

About

A corn protein allergy is an overreaction of the immune system to one or more proteins found in corn, according to MedlinePlus. The immune system protects the body from harmful substances, such as viruses by producing antibodies that fight against infection. When the corn protein enters the body, the immune system identifies it as a harmful substance and attacks it the same way it would a virus. This attack causes mast cells to produce histamine, which leads to common allergy symptoms.

Common Symptoms

The most common symptoms of a corn protein allergy are skin rashes and asthma. Skin rashes can develop as hives or eczema. Both rashes are extremely itchy and could cause secondary infections if they skin is left cracked or open. Asthma is another common symptom that leads to wheezing, shortness of breathe, difficulty breathing and chest discomfort. An asthma attack can lead to further complications and needs to be assessed by a doctor.

Other Symptoms

A corn protein allergy can produce other common food allergy symptoms, such as respiratory issues and digestive complications, according to MedlinePlus. Respiratory issues may include itchy eyes, a scratchy throat and nasal congestion. Nasal congestion can lead to a runny nose, postnasal drip, sinus headaches or excessive sneezing.

Dietary Modification

The Children’s Hospital of the King’s Daughters recommends that a patient with a corn protein allergy avoid consuming any product containing corn by-products. Some common foods containing corn protein are syrup, cereal, jelly, cookies, infant formula, baked goods, snack foods and sodas. Before modifying your diet, talk over the intended modifications with your doctor.

 

Wheat and Gluten
Living With a Wheat Allergy

Foods made with wheat are staples of the American diet. However, many people are allergic to proteins found in wheat, including gluten. If you are allergic to any wheat protein strictly avoiding wheat and wheat products is the only way to prevent a reaction, which can include stomach upset, eczema, allergic rhinitis, asthma and even anaphylaxis. But, it is not always easy to avoid these foods since many unsuspecting products contain wheat.

Always check the label ingredients before you use a product. Many processed foods, including ice cream and catsup, may contain wheat flour. In addition, check the label each time you use the product. Manufacturers occasionally change recipes, and a trigger food may be added to the new recipe.

Examples of wheat products and foods that may contain wheat include:
Wheat Products Wheat-Containing Ingredients Wheat-Containing Food Whole wheat or enriched flour, High gluten flour, High protein flour, Bran, Farina, Graham flour, Bulgur, Durum, Semolina, Wheat malt, Wheat starch, Modified starch, Starch, Gluten, Gelatinized starch, Hydrolyzed vegetable protein, Vital gluten, Wheat bran, Wheat germ, Wheat gluten, Vegetable gum, Vegetable starch, Many breads, cookies, cakes, and other baked goods, Bread crumbs, Crackers, Many cereals, Acker meal, Couscous, Cracker meal, Pasta
Spelt. http://www.webmd.com/allergies/guide/wheat-allergy

Vegetarian

We’re all different. So if you want to go – and stay – vegetarian, it’s important to find the way that suits you best. Some of the most popular ways of making the change in your lifestyle are described on these pages, but whichever route you choose, remember:

Every meal helps. If you don’t feel you can go veggie all at once, feel good about what you are doing to reduce the amount of meat and fish that you eat.

Stop and think about what you eat. It’s not difficult to be a vegetarian, but if you’ve eaten meat all your life it is different. You won’t be healthy if you just swap the meat or fish in your usual diet with lots of dairy products.

Ask for help. Going vegetarian is exciting and adventurous but it’s also a big step. The Vegetarian Society is an educational charity with lots of advice and resources for new veggies, but you might also find it useful to talk to friends, colleagues or acquaintances who are vegetarian. Most of us have been through the same experience and are only too happy to help a new veggie.

Don’t give up. If you find it difficult at first or slip up a bit, just remind yourself of all the great reasons for being vegetarian and give it another go.

It’s better for animals. Around two million land animals are slaughtered every day in the UK alone, just so that people can eat their flesh.

It’s more sustainable. Growing grains and pulses to feed to animals is much less efficient than eating them ourselves. The livestock industry uses huge amounts of land, water and fossil fuels, while producing 18% of the world’s greenhouse gas emissions and all sorts of other pollution.

It’s a healthy option. A balanced vegetarian diet is one of the healthiest diets around.

Many religions and faiths recommend vegetarianism and some people turn away from eating animal flesh because of broader ethical issues. A vegetarian diet can also be one of the cheapest ways to eat well.

Whatever your reasons, going – and staying – vegetarian is a positive life choice.

https://www.vegsoc.org/

Vegan
“Vegetarians do not eat meat, fish, and poultry. Vegans are vegetarians who abstain from eating or using all animal products, including milk, cheese, other dairy items, eggs, wool, silk, and leather. Among the many reasons for being a vegetarian are health, ecological, and religious concerns, dislike of meat, compassion for animals, belief in non-violence, and economics.”

“Veganism, or strict vegetarianism, is the conscious choice to refrain from eating or otherwise using any animals or animal-derived products. There are as many reasons to be vegan as there are vegans, but generally one chooses a vegan lifestyle for either health reasons or compassion for animals, or both.”

“If you want to prevent violence toward animals, the single most effective action you can take is to go vegan. A vegan, or “strict vegetarian,” is someone who avoids purchasing or consuming animal products or products tested on animals.”

“Vegetarianism is the fastest growing dietary form in the Western world today, and within it veganism is also steadily growing in popularity… In Australia, over one quarter of teenage girls are vegetarian.” http://www.veganvalues.org/veganism_religion.htm

Download Booklet “Why Vegan?”



Disclaimer

This website contains general information about medical conditions and treatments. The information is not advice, and should not be treated as such.

Limitation of warranties

The medical information on this website is provided “as is” without any representations or warranties, express or implied. Mindful Delights makes no representations or warranties in relation to the medical information on this website.

Without prejudice to the generality of the foregoing paragraph, Mindful Delights does not warrant that:

  • the medical information on this website will be constantly available, or available at all; or
  • the medical information on this website is complete, true, accurate, up-to-date, or non-misleading.

Professional assistance

You must not rely on the information on this website as an alternative to medical advice from your doctor or other professional healthcare provider.

If you have any specific questions about any medical matter you should consult your doctor or other professional healthcare provider.

If you think you may be suffering from any medical condition you should seek immediate medical attention.

You should never delay seeking medical advice, disregard medical advice, or discontinue medical treatment because of information on this website.

Liability

Nothing in this medical disclaimer will limit any of our liabilities in any way that is not permitted under applicable law, or exclude any of our liabilities that may not be excluded under applicable law.

Top Of Page

Comments are closed.